What is HOMESTEAD?
Understanding Florida's Homestead Law.
When someone owns property and makes it his or her permanent residence or the permanent residence of his or her dependent, the property owner may be eligible to receive a homestead tax exemption up to $50,000. The first $25,000 applies to all property taxes, including school district taxes. The additional exemption up to $25,000 applies to the assessed value.
If you purchased this primary residence on or after January 1, 2020 then it is time to file for the Florida Homestead Tax Exemption. Among a few other requirements, the Homestead Exemption requires:
A valid Florida Driver's License
Valid Florida Vehicle registration and tags
Proof if residence ownership
All Property Tax Exemptions must be filed with the County Property Appraiser by March 1st.
For more information on Exemptions, please visit: